More than robots!


The Challenge events are demanding and teams work hard for to achieve their best. The Adventist Robotics League believes that all teams should be awarded for the level of performance attained. For this reason ARL gives out more than one first, second or third place award in each category and more than one Champion’s award if it is warranted. The decision of how many awards are to be given is at the sole discretion of the judges and their decisions are final. The judges can also choose to not give a particular place award in a category if there are no teams, in their judgment, that have achieved that level of performance.

Champion’s Award

The Champion’s Award is the most prestigious award that any team can win. It celebrates the ultimate success of the FIRST mission and FLL values.

Technical Awards

Robot Design Award – Judges look for teams whose work stands out for innovation and/or dependability.

Robot Performance Award – This award goes to the team whose robot achieves the best score on the competition field or in the elimination round.

Team Presentation Awards

Project Award – FLL presents the Project Award to the team whose quality research, innovative solutions, and creative presentation best reflect an in-depth understanding of the various scientific disciplines and issues involved with the Challenge project.

Teamwork Award – FLL presents this award to the team that best demonstrates extraordinary enthusiasm, an exceptional partnership, and the practice of FLL values.

Special Recognition Awards

  • Outstanding Volunteer Award
  • Adult Coach/Mentor Award
  • Young Adult Mentor Award

Optional Judges’ Awards

  • Against All Odds Award or Perseverance Award
  • Rising Star Award
  • Team Spirit Award
  • Other Judges’ Award
  • Local Awards

Leave a Reply